Return to Curriculum

Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception)

All children in the Foundation Stage work towards the Early Learning Goals. The Foundation Stage curriculum is divided into seven  areas of learning.  They are grouped under two heading

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social, Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  •  Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Children are assessed throughout the Foundation Stage using the Early Years Foundation Stage document.